About Erasmus+

  1. Kempten University of Applied Sciences
  2. International
  3. International University
  4. Erasmus+ programme
  5. About Erasmus+

Mobile, international university life with Erasmus+

Erasmus+ is the European Union’s programme for education, youth and sport, in which Kempten University of Applied Sciences participates. The previous EU programmes for life-long learning, youth and sport are pooled within this scheme together with European higher education collaborative programmes.


The programme has three priorities:

  • 1 – Individuals’ learning mobility
  • 2 – Collaboration to promote innovation and interaction on tried-and-tested procedures
  • 3 – Support for political reforms.

Kempten University of Applied Sciences provides special assistance to encourage mobility of its students, lecturers and staff around Europe (Priority 1). The aim is to prepare forthcoming graduates well for their professional pathways and give them the chance to get to know other countries and cultural settings.

New programme generation 2021–27

The new Erasmus+ programme generation that started on 1 September 2021 pursues the following primary aims:

  • Digital transformation
  • Inclusion and diversity
  • Environment and combatting climate change
  • Participation in democratic life

Erasmus+ students and Erasmus+ Charter for Higher Education

The obligations and rights of students on the Erasmus+ programme are set out in the “Erasmus+ Student Charter“, which every student receives before going abroad.

Erasmus+ Charter for Higher Education: 

Every HE institution that participates (or wishes to) in this EU programme for general education and vocational training, youth and sport must possess a valid Erasmus+ Charter for Higher Education (ECHE), as awarded by the European Commission. This demonstrates that the university in question has fulfilled all the criteria for successfully participating in the Erasmus+ programme.

Erasmus+ Charter and European Policy Statement for the current programme generation:

Kempten University of Applied Sciences Erasmus+ Charter 2021–2027 in English  (-NEW!-)
Kempten University of Applied Sciences Erasmus+ Charter 2021–2027 in in German (-NEW!-)
Kempten University of Applied Sciences European Policy Statement 2021–2027 (-NEW!-)

Erasmus+ programme countries

The following 33 European countries are part of the Erasmus+ programme:

The 27 EU countries


  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Serbia
  • Turkey

Brexit and Erasmus+

The United Kingdom has withdrawn from the European Union’s Erasmus+ programme with the transition to the new generation in 2021. However, residual funding from the previous generation is still available to subsidise semesters and internships abroad! The final call for the old Erasmus generation was issued in 2020, which (including the authorised extension) runs for 36 months. Study visits to our British partner universities and internships with companies in the UK that end no later than 31 May 2023 can still be subsidised using these residual funds.

National Agency

The funding for most mobility measures and strategic partnerships is awarded by the national agencies in the programme countries. In Germany, the German Academic Exchange Service (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst – DAAD) performs this task.

Further information and advice on the Erasmus+ mobility measures is available from:

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst
National Agency for EU University Collaboration
Kennedyallee 50
53115 Bonn
Tel.: +49 (0)800 2014 020

Web: https://eu.daad.de/de/
Email: erasmus(at)daad.de




The European Commission provided funding to subsidise this project. The responsibility for the content of this publication lies solely with the author, and the Commission is not liable for how the details cited therein are put to further use.